János Kovács & Liszt Academy Symphony Orchestra

22 October 2024, 19.30-22.00

Grand Hall

Masters of the Orchestra

János Kovács & Liszt Academy Symphony Orchestra Presented by Liszt Academy

Liszt: Christus, Part One: Christmas Oratorio » Die heiligen drei Könige
Bartók: Rhapsody No. 2, BB 96b
Liszt: Prometheus – symphonic poem
Weiner: Divertimento No. 3, Op. 25 (ʻHungarian Impressionsʼ)
Liszt: Piano Concerto in E-flat major

Ádám Banda (violin), Sebestyén Pellet (piano)
Liszt Academy Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: János Kovács

Liszt was a major figure in 19th century Western music. Initially revered as a diabolical piano virtuoso (the Piano Concerto in E-flat major is one of the last works of this period), Liszt was later hailed as a composer who innovated musical language, writing oratorios and symphonic poems. For a long time he was the origin for young Hungarian musicians, and he also had a great influence on the young Bartók: as the academic student of the former Liszt pupil, István Thomán, he initially set out to continue the Liszt tradition. Although he did not ultimately become a direct successor to Liszt, his early work shows many latent Liszt influences. He was taught composition by another renowned teacher at the institution, Hans Koessler, who also taught Leó Weiner, four years his junior. Despite their common intellectual roots, the two composers took different paths, but Hungarian music – as can be heard in the works performed this evening – left its mark on the oeuvre of both of them.


Buy tickets for the concerts presented by the Liszt Academy at the same time and we will give you
  • 10% discount for 2 concerts,
  • 15% discount for 3 concerts,
  • 20% discount for 4 or more concerts.


Presented by

Liszt Academy Concert Centre


HUF 2 800, 4 200, 5 500, 6 900

Concert series:

Masters of the Orchestra

Other events in the concert series: